Sep 16, 2010

Pound Sterling, the British currency

The pound sterling is the currency of the UK. One pound sterling is subdivided into 100 pence, the singular of which is "penny". 
£ is the sign for the pound and  p for the penny. The British pound is ranked as the fourth largest currency in the world after the euro, the US dollar and the Japanese yen. Both coins and banknotes are issued by the Bank of England.

The Bank of England

The pound sterling has 8 types of coins: 1p, 2p, 5p, 10p, 20p, 50p, 1£ and 2£. The monarch's head is on the obverse side of the coin and parts of the Royal Shield on the reverse.

The banknote issues are: 5£, 10£, 20£ and 50£. There are also 1£ and 100£ banknotes which are in use only in Scotland (the last also in Northern Ireland)
 HRM Queen Elizabeth's II head on the British banknotes

No comments: