Feb 11, 2011

The Buckingham Palace

Buckingham Palace is the Queen's (Elizabeth) official and main royal London home. It has been the official London residence of Britain's monarchy since 1837. Queen Victoria was the first monarch to live there.

Buckingham Palace is also an office
Buckingham Palace is used also for the administrative work for the monarchy. It is here in the state apartments that the Queen receives and entertains guests invited to the Palace.

History of Buckingham Palace
Buckingham Palace was originally a grand house built by the Dukes of Buckingham for his wife. George IV began transforming it into a palace in 1826.

Royal Flag
When the Queen is at home, you can see her royal flag flying from the flag pole on top of Buckingham Palace. This flag is called the Royal Standard.
The flag is split into four quadrants. The first and fourth quadrants represent England and contain three gold lions walking on a red field; the second quadrant represents Scotland; it contains a red lion
standing on the left hind foot on a gold field; 
the third quadrant represents Ireland and contains the gold Coat of arms of Ireland on a blue field.
Foot Guards 
Five regiments of Foot Guards guard the Palace. They wear red jackets and tall, furry hats called bearskins.When the first guards come on duty, there is a ceremony called the Changing of the Guard. 

Inside Buckingham Palace
The Palace has around 600 rooms, including 19 State rooms, 52 royal and guest bedrooms, 78 bathrooms, 92 offices, a cinema and a swimming pool. It also has its own post office and police station.
 About 400 people work at the Palace, including domestic servants, chefs, footmen, cleaners, plumbers, gardeners, chauffers, electricians, and two people who look after the 300 clocks.

No comments: